Consulate General of Portugal in Sydney

Ministry of Foreign Affairs


The area of jurisdiction of the Consulate General in Sydney is as follows:
  • Australia (excluding ACT which is under the jurisdiction of the Consular Section of the Embassy of Portugal in Canberra)
  • New Zealand,
  • Papua New Guinea Territory,
  • Nauru,
  • Islands of Polynesia (Tonga, Samoa Island),
  • Melanesia (Fiji, Tuvalu, Solomon Islands).


The following Honorary Consulates are dependant of the Consulate General in Sydney:


  • Honorary Consulate in Adelaide - South Australia,
  • Honorary Consulate in Brisbane – Queensland,
  • Honorary Consulate in Darwin - Northern Territory,
  • Honorary Consulate in Melbourne - Victoria,
  • Honorary Consulate in Perth - Western Australia.

New Zealand:

  • Honorary Consulate in Auckland,
  • Honorary Consulate in Wellington.

Australia and New Zealand Honorary consulates follow the guidelines of the Consul General of Portugal in Sydney.

Honorary Consulates provide assistance to Portuguese nationals abroad, in accordance with national and foreign laws, and in accordance with international rights, particularly in terms of providing support to the Portuguese in need and aid in case of accident, natural disaster or serious disruptions of civil order.

They are not accredited to practice the issuance of visas, civil registry and notary services; as well as electoral enrolment and issuance of travel documents. However, in exceptional circumstances, as defined in the legal statute, the Foreign Minister may authorize the Honorary Consuls to exercise powers of consuls in relation to the issuance of travel documents, and acts of electoral enrolment, notary and civil registry.


Honorary consulates dependant of the Consulate General in Sydney:


Honorary Consulate of Portugal in Adelaide (Appointment Required)
Honorary Consul: Miguel Costa Alemão
Address: 1/491-499 South Road  Regency Park SA 5010
Ph:  0448683883 (business hours)
Fax: (00 61 8) 82416777

Honorary Consulate of Portugal in Brisbane (Appointment Required)

Honorary Consul: Diana Lopes
Address: Tingalpa Central, Unit 12/1631 Wynnum Road
Tingalpa QLD 4173
Postal Address: PO Box 2282 Tingalpa QLD 4173
Ph: (00 64) 0475848288

Honorary Consulate of Portugal in Darwin

Honorary Consul: Oscar da Cruz Nunes
Address: 99 Coonawarra Road, Winnellie NT 0820
Postal Address: PO Box 40976 Casuarina NT 0811
Ph:  (00 61 8) 8947 2430
Fax: (00 61 8) 8947 2632

Honorary Consulate of Portugal in Melbourne
Honorary Consul: Dr. Carlos Lemos
Address: 846 Toorak Road  Hawthorn East VIC 3123
Ph:  (03) 9822 7140
Fax: (03) 9822 7379

Honorary Consulate of Portugal in Perth
Honorary Consul: João Silva
Address: 229B Hampton Road South Fremantle WA 6162
Postal Address: PO Box 42 South Fremantle WA 6162
Ph:  (00 61 8) 93362172
Fax: (00 61 8) 93367897

New Zealand

Honorary Consulate of Portugal in Auckland
Honorary Consul: Daniel da Cunha e Silva
Address: 20 Veríssimo Drive Mangere
Postal Address: P.O. Box 201080 Auckland 2150
Ph:  (00 64 9) 2552569
Fax: (00 64 9) 5238070

Honorary Consulate of Portugal in Wellington
Honorary Consul: Ivan W. McNicholl
Address:   Suite 1 1st floor 41/47 Dixon St., Wellington 6011
Postal Address: P.O. Box 1024 Wellington  
Ph:  (00 64 4) 3841714